Wednesday, October 7, 2009

on "Killing Us Softly 3"

I usually disregard sexism in ads as old news. I've been deconstructing that stuff since middle school, so instead of getting angry with ads, I just ignore them. This presentation, however, showed me some new things. Watch for yourself:

killing us softly 3


Particularly disturbing are the children in the ads. Reminds me of being a girl, and never being allowed to play GI Joes. Instead of being an awesomely heroic soldier, I got to style Barbie's hair.

I should be thankful though. Since I didn't fit the social norm for girl-hood, I stepped out of society and learned to read. Now, literacy and education enable me, as an adult, to fight back. I should want to dip into some invitational rhetoric about now, but I don't want to. I want to go all conversion rhetoric with advertisers and mass media. Anybody else?

1 comment:

  1. Wow, that was fascinating. I really hadn't paid that much attention..

    ReplyDelete